Register: Select a Program
You've selected Alaska. The following programs are available for you.
Select a program and you’ll be asked for your official registration details.
Alaska Tap - Training for Alcohol Professionals
Course Fee: $55.00REGISTER NOW
Register now to obtain your State Approved Alaska Tap - Training for Alcohol Professionals certification.
Alaska TAP Online (Training for Alcohol Professionals) is a comprehensive Alcohol Server and Seller Training program designed to provide the tools necessary for you to be able to sell and/or serve alcohol responsibly, legally and safely.
- This course and website are fully functional on any smart phone -
Alaska TAP online is an ALASKA STATE ABC BOARD APPROVED alcohol server/seller training program.
IMPORTANT: Alaska TAP online may only be taken if you live and/or work more than 50 miles from one of CHARR’s many instructors statewide (is you live or work within 50-miles of a classroom training, you are not eligable to complete training online and must take classroom training). Check the TAP page at http://www.alaskacharr.com for a list of instructors.
This program has been developed by industry professionals encompassing all aspects of alcohol service. Whether you serve and/or sell alcohol at a restaurant, bar, nightclub, convention center, grocery store, convenience store, sporting stadium or live music arena, this training is right for you.
The Alaska TAP Online training program is a self paced learning module that can be administered at any time. This program is easy to follow and was designed to help you learn what it takes to become a responsible alcohol server and/or seller. Upon completion of the learning module, you will be provided a 50-question multiple choice test. You must receive a passing score of 75% or better to receive your 3-year certification. Once you pass the test, you will be able to print your temporary certification card and you will receive your permanent certification card in 7-14 business days.
PLEASE NOTE: IF YOU TAKE THE COURSE AND YOU LIVE/WORK WITHIN 50 MILES OF AN INSTRUCTOR, REFUNDS WILL NOT BE GIVEN IF YOU TAKE THIS COURSE.
Proctor requirement: You must have a supervisor, manager or owner proctor your final exam. This means that they must be present while you complete your exam. You must enter their name in the 'Employer' field of the registration page when registering.
Alaska Marijuana Handler Permit
Course Fee: $40.00REGISTER NOW
Each licensee, employee, or agent of an establishment which sells, cultivates, manufactures, tests, or transports marijuana or a marijuana product, or who checks the identification of a consumer or visitor, should obtain a marijuana handler permit.
Topics covered in this course include the history of Marijuana, how to spot fake ID's, ways marijuana is used, types of marijuana, dealing with difficult situations, recognizing hte signs of impairment and state laws and regulations.
Each licensee, employee, or agent of a marijuana establishment who sells, cultivates, manufactures, tests, or transports marijuana or marijuana product, or who checks the identification of a consumer of visitor, must obtain a marijuana handler permit card from AMCO before being licensed or beginning employment at a marijuana establishment, per 3 AAC 306.700. Marijuana handler permits are valid for three years from the date of issue.
The following instructions regarding new marijuana handler permit applications for submission to the Alcohol and Marijuana Control Office (AMCO) were created to assist you in completing forms and gathering necessary documents. The AMCO staff has worked diligently to make these instructions easy to understand and provide valuable training and resources for all applicants to ensure that permit applications and supplemental documents are completed accurately.
In order to receive a marijuana handler permit card, please complete the following steps:
1. Complete a Marijuana Control Board approval Marijuana Handler Permit Education Course.
2. Complete the marijuana handler permit Online Application.
3. You can submit your payment via check, money orders or cashier checks payable to “State of Alaska” in the Anchorage office or mail it to: Alcohol and Marijuana Control Office 550 W 7th Ave Suite 1600 Anchorage, Ak 99501
4. For applicants who live near Anchorage, Fairbanks, or Juneau: Bring a copy of your Standard Cover Page, your original Marijuana Handler Education Course Completion Certificate, an original passport photo, and a valid form of photo identification to your local AMCO office (see below for office hours). Your card will be issued and provided to you by AMCO staff. For applicants who do not live near Anchorage, Fairbanks, or Juneau: Mail a copy of your Standard Cover Page, your original Marijuana Handler Education Course Completion Certificate, an original passport photo, and a clear and readable color copy of a valid form of photo identification to the Anchorage AMCO office at the address below
Applicants should complete the following before proceeding with a new marijuana handler permit application:
- Read the Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) provided at http://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/amco
- Read these Instructions
- Complete a Marijuana Control Board approved Marijuana Handler Permit Education Course
Once you have completed the above bulleted requirements and still have a marijuana handler permit question, you may send your question in an email to email@example.com.
Get started now. It's quick and easy!
- Click the REGISTER NOW button
- Signup by giving required information
- Buy course and continue with training!